University Organization

The largest academic units at the University of Missouri are its colleges and schools. Each college and school may consist of smaller units called departments. Some colleges have divisions within them as well, which are a collection of departments within a college or school. By long tradition, some of the smaller units are also called schools.

The academic year is divided into two, 16-week semesters (fall and spring) and one, 8-week summer semester. The January intersession is considered part of the spring semester for registration and financial aid purposes. The May intersession is considered part of the summer session.

Academic Programs and Degree Structure

To earn a degree from the University of Missouri, students must complete all University, college and/or school, departmental and major requirements. In some cases, the major requirements may include emphasis areas and/or minors. In other cases, there may be options or tracks, which do not appear on transcripts.